Every Golf fan and golfers believe that Jon Rahm should have been penalized. After the issue with Lexi Thompson
at ANA Invitational, where she lost in a playoff, which took place due to a four-strokes penalty on her after a
viewer called into the LPGA authorities describing the situation seen by him on TV.
The problem started when Jon Rahm and Daniel Im found their balls in uncomfortably close proximity on the sixth
Golfers use coins or ball markers to mark their balls on the green so that their balls can be lifted from the surface to
make way for other golfers’ balls. The closeness of the balls in this instance prompted Rahm to execute a more
convoluted ball-marking strategy, which may have lead to confusion when the time for ball-replacement came just
moments later. The proper laying of balls on the green in golf is, you can imagine, a pretty big deal.
The errant ball-placement—a matter of millimeters—was discussed between Rahm, Im, and European Tour chief
referee Andy McPhee, and ultimately Rahm was not penalized. Rahm would go on to win the tournament by a
whopping six shots.
You can watch the full video coverage of the issue in the talk here which has led to rising in the controversy.